top of page
sequentialparentin

Days of the Week: Building Independence

Before your child can even read - they understand by looking at pictures. Here on Sequential Parenting, I am a firm believer of building independence at an early age.

Trying to get 3 children out the door for school drop off would be impossible if they didn't help me out with my own jobs. One of the displays I have that helps the girls to know what to get dressed in for the day is our "Where am I going today?" sequence. This is just a days of the week display, yet it provides an enriched learning experience.

How? 1. It teaches the girls the independence of getting dressed for each day by looking at the picture cue card.

2. Provides an opportunity for word recognition as they connect their oral knowledge of the days of the week to the written form.

3. Shows them that there is a sequence/pattern of the days of the week and that it repeats.

4. It shows that there are two categorises for the week: home/school days & weekend (family time).


Some times we can overlook something that is super simple, yet it can make the biggest difference!


Attached you'll find a generic copy that you can use in your home however if you'd like a customised sequence like I have done for my family they are available of purchase, just you contact me :)




30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page